FlightGear - Création d'avions et autres / Creation of aircraft and other

Vous désirez aider à améliorer les avions de Hangar de Helijah, c'est ici que cela se passe / You would like to help improving aircraft from Helijah's hangar, this is where it happens

Vous n'êtes pas identifié(e).

#26 2015-04-06 10:29:39

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

Hi D-Echo,

Do you know this game :

hydrav10.png

For me, this one is far much better than LEGO (owned by the same holding) where half of forms are already casted.

So if you are good in that, then you should be ready for that siffle

http://i19.servimg.com/u/f19/17/12/18/26/big_ph10.jpg   .................. lol lol lol


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#27 2015-04-06 14:37:32

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

News from the day :
rotax-12.jpg

Almost done.
Just  need
- spark plugs coils;
- Started motor;
- alternator (when I found where it goes;
- Oil radiator
- Water radiator
- Propeller pitch control


A+


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#28 2015-04-06 15:31:08

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Didier1963 a écrit :

Do you know this game

No, I haven't known it (until now), but I know a quite similar one.

Hors ligne

#29 2015-04-06 22:10:07

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

Hi there,

So I have try the new engine in the plane :
firewa10.jpg

We will have to move the firewall again about 10cm.

Even with the new exhaust pipes, it's too long.
firewa11.jpg

I can put a different exhaust with these big cylinder more flat but it wont make too much difference.
The cylinder head cover would go out in sides if I move the engine 5cm backward.
See top view on wireframe mode :
engine11.png

And I need to put the radiators  just bellow the carburetors.


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#30 2015-04-07 05:09:01

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Ill be away for the next days, so don't wonder if there won't be any comments wink

Hors ligne

#31 2015-04-19 06:14:54

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Sorry, I've lost the latest model that you've send me... Could you send it to me again?
PS: Pictures from the AERO coming soon....

Hors ligne

#32 2015-04-19 07:33:40

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Stall: I think there's a problem with the stall behavior: The balance point is approximately a bit in front of the motor and the wings are in front of the balance point.
So, if the aircraft gets into stall, it will turn to the back and fall down. In this situation, the aircraft is almost uncontrollable. Normally, the balance point is in front of the wings, so the aircraft will turn to the front and gets faster so you can control it again.
A possible solution would be, to make the wings longer or put them a bit more to the back like here (only fast draft, sorry if it doesn't really look like the aircraft wink)
2015-04-19-093113.jpg?dl=1

Hors ligne

#33 2015-04-19 07:45:16

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

like this wink (only a small draft with an old aircraft version...)
2015.png?dl=1

Hors ligne

#34 2015-04-19 10:22:18

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

When you speak about balance point (CG I suppose), do you mean in reality or in the simulator?
Did you take in consideration the pilot and passengers weight?
Better to make the wing little bit longer, because in your last screen-shot it doesn't look nice (so remember about Marcel Dassault remark).
For a good balance, the ideal position of the CG would be about in the middle of the wings base (where you have the yellow point in your screen-shot).

The wing span should be calculated but I'm not an engineer. So look measures in the Petria plane to have an idea how to find the wing span based on plane length (Ratio).


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#35 2015-04-19 12:41:38

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Didier1963 a écrit :

For a good balance, the ideal position of the CG would be about in the middle of the wings base

Are you sure? Because, as I've already written, when the aircraft gets into stall and the CG is in the middle of the wing base, it:
1)falls straight down
2)tilts to one sight, according to the wind
In both cases, you (almost)can't control the aircraft anymore.

Hors ligne

#36 2015-04-19 18:13:10

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Didier1963 a écrit :

Better to make the wing little bit longer, because in your last screen-shot it doesn't look nice (so remember about Marcel Dassault remark).

Like this?
echoair_bigwing2.png?dl=1
echoair_bigwing.png?dl=1
Regards wink

Hors ligne

#37 2015-04-19 18:23:35

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

And what about this?
echoair_solar.png?dl=1
This, with an electro motor and some batteries would have some advantages: No fuel in wings(-> Foldable wings-> better transporability), because you only need batteries and you can put them e.g. under the cabin/in the nose, so you can regular the CG. Less noise-> Not so much weight for noise barrier between motor and cabin. And more enviroment friendly.
What do you think? wink

Hors ligne

#38 2015-04-19 18:35:26

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

Yes, Akoya have is version in solar cells too.
But the wings are too large. I would reduce about 1/3.

Once again, have look in Akoya's specification and compare the wing surface in square meter, the wing span and the weight.
You can find it on the manufacturer site :
http://www.lisa-airplanes.com/en


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#39 2015-04-19 18:55:34

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Errrr, sorry, can't find the page with the specs, and also have to go off now, tomorrow is school and there are still some things to do smile

Hors ligne

#40 2015-04-21 15:11:52

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Didier1963 a écrit :

(so remember about Marcel Dassault remark).

So, if planes only fly if they are looking nice, why do the Dassault aircraft fly interrogation smile

Hors ligne

#41 2015-04-21 21:35:07

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

It look's like you did not understand is point! roll
He did not say that if the plane where ugly, they wouldn't fly.
He just sayd that if the plane is looking nice, it should fly nicely.

But if you think little bit further about it, it have something to do with aerodinamics :
If the shape is smooth and regular, it goes through the air smootly.
If the shape have sharp edges and stuff like that, it would create some drag.

So speaking about solar plane, and LISA Airplanes, look there :
http://www.lisa-airplanes.com/en/the-co … tlook.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05xpsiylkbo


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#42 2015-05-01 06:53:45

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

How did you make that your version of the aircraft hadn't got these "failures": (at the edges of the windows and in the interior)
fgfs-screen-008.png?dl=1

Hors ligne

#43 2015-05-01 11:57:59

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

The problem is that in 3D modeling, each face have to be flat.
That's why, when you use boolean tool, you end up with lots of triangle added by the boolean operation.

So if you have one edge bended in two plane (or direction if you prefer), you have to cut the original face in few triangles.

Here is the file you sent me :
Picture 1
echoai12.png
All the dark gray zones are where there is a problem.
First, I used the existing vertice to make triangles, by select three of them and hit the "f" key, and get ride of the former faces replaced by these new triangle :
Picture 2
echoai10.png
Then I put the view in side view, and moved the new points to get a nice curve (do not touch the ones from the original object before using boolean tool, they are in the right place) :
Picture 3
echoai11.png

I put the view in back (numpad 3, and 8 to move it little bit up to have better angle of view) :
Picture 4
echoai13.png

and moved again the new points to get nice curve :
Picture 5
echoai14.png
So, you can see that there is still dark gray zone (in the center of the picture), I forgot to make triangle because I did not see one of the vertice.
After make additional triangle, every thing was good.

Then, after correcting all around the door frame, you will have to move the door edges to match the new body edge.
You can see on picture 3 that there is a gap between the window and the new frame rounded shape.
Same on picture 4 and 5, just bellow the triangle I forgot before, the window is going on the top of the frame, it has to be moved little bit inside to match with the new rounded frame.

Now, there is an other way :
When you position your punch object to cut the "window/door", use the knife and make the "new points in the right position so it will be easy to do it after.

BUT................... when you'll be used with that, try to avoid as much as possible triangle face, and use square ones when possible.
I wont go to deep in technical details, to get it simple : it slowdown the system as it create more calculation for the rendering.
Lot's of modelers recommend that. For me, it is not a priority, but when I can, I try to take care of that.

Enjoy and keep me up to date, I'll be arround all the week-end, I don't plane to go out...........

Dernière modification par Didier1963 (2015-05-01 12:11:41)


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#44 2015-05-01 20:51:53

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

That's it!

Ignition wiring done.
It was not easy as there where few water and fuel pipes to go through :
rotax-13.jpg

I'll made a new exhaust assembly to go on the top like in LSA

[EDIT]
Here it is :
rotax-14.jpg
[/EDIT]

Dernière modification par Didier1963 (2015-05-01 22:07:03)


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#45 2015-05-03 21:22:31

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

Week-end quite busy :
Trying to tune an FDM
equipm10.jpg


Changing few wrong things on my Pteria instruments to fit it on the EchoAir 2015
panel210.jpg

So, if you turn the red handle...........................
chute-10.jpg
and then, you have to wait to be on ground to fold back the chute & fly again.

If you touch the wrong switch..................
wings-10.jpg
So, I let you picture what happens if you do it during fly !!!!


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#46 2015-05-04 14:39:24

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Didier1963 a écrit :

So, I let you picture what happens if you do it during fly !!!!

I would say.... CRASH! lol
And, I have to say: The Dornier aircraft aren't all that ugly, for example the DO328 (http://wiki.flightgear.org/Dornier_328) looks in my oppinion really good! lol

Hors ligne

#47 2015-05-11 15:30:30

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

By the way, can't wait to fly your version of the aircraft!
Regards

Hors ligne

#48 2015-05-11 18:01:26

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

Just be patient
I work on it
Get rid of the error messages shekels starting FG


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

#49 2015-06-13 04:48:27

D-ECHO
Créateur
Inscription : 2014-10-28
Messages : 125

Re : EchoAir2015

Finally I also got a version of the EchoAir 2015, here it is: smile
fgfs-screen-114.png?dl=1
(gear missing, will do that today)
fgfs-screen-115.png?dl=1
PS: For the Windows I used the knife tool this time and I think it worked better, so: no  "grey zones" wink

Dernière modification par D-ECHO (2015-06-13 04:48:55)

Hors ligne

#50 2015-06-13 12:17:02

Didier1963
Developpeur
Lieu : Poitiers
Inscription : 2012-10-24
Messages : 1 233

Re : EchoAir2015

looks not bad.

I see you choose to have rounded edges on wings and rudder.
How about the junction between the rudder and the vertical stab?
Is it rounded as well or is it in strait line?
Same question for the flaps and ails.


Pourquoi cet avatar : il a réussi à les arrêter LUI au moins.......
Amicalement, Didier, Poitiers 86; LFBI alt 129m, 46°35'22.9"N 0°18'32.7"E
"Ils ne savaient pas que c'était impossible, alors ils l'on fait" Marc Twain

Hors ligne

Pied de page des forums

Propulsé par FluxBB 1.4.8